State of Happiness tells the story of Western prosperity, a changing nation, a Klondike town, and four young people who are thrown into a whirlwind of opportunities. 

It’s the summer of 1969 in the small coastal town of Stavanger, Northern Europe. International oil companies have been test drilling for years, but nothing has been found and they are in the process of leaving. Stavanger lives off fish, and the North Sea is emptying out. The town is in crisis. 

The night before Christmas 1969, Phillips Petroleum finds the largest sub sea oil basin in history. And everything is about to change.

Premiere: 28.10.2018 (NRK)
Genre: Drama series / 8 x 45 minutes
Screenplay: Mette M. Bølstad
Based on an idea by Synnøve Hørsdal and a concept by Siv Rajendram Eliassen
Directors: Petter Næss & Pål Jackman
Producers: Synnøve Hørsdal & Ales Ree
Co-Producers: Lunanime (BE) by Jan de Clercq & Tim Martens
Cast: Anne Regine Ellingsæter, Amund Harboe, Bart Edwards, Malene Wadel, Pia Tjelta, Per Kjerstad, Vegar Hoel

Full credit on IMDB